My 5k journey : is complete!!

This time a week ago (Saturday), I completed my 5k run in the beautiful seafront setting of Southsea, Portsmouth, UK. The sun was shining and the scenery couldn’t have been more perfect.

I achieved my goal – which was to run the entire distance – and I finished in a reasonably respectable time of 39mins 52 secs. I would have liked to have been closer to 35mins but considering the hit and miss nature of my training over the last month, I was thrilled just to have finished.

2016-10-22-09-56-56-1

Having a laugh pre-race

Having completed the race I thought that would be me done, but oddly, it’s not. I like the feeling of being fitter – even if I have not lost any weight as yet – and so I have decided to continue running with an aim of getting a faster 5k time in the future. I am also going to try to increase my distance and am looking at getting a 10k plan which I would like to try to run in Spring next year.

2016-10-29-13-43-54

The all important ‘finishers’ medal

I wouldn’t say that I have enjoyed this journey – the training has been challenging and the race was much harder than I thought it would be – but I do feel proud of myself for sticking with it and knowing that I can achieve something like this has pushed me onwards. I am never going to be the most natural or fastest runner in the world, but if I can keep going and benefit from the fitness then I reckon that can only be good not just physically but, perhaps more importantly, mentally.

Thanks for following the journey with me!

~~~

cropped-dscn00312.jpg

~~~

7 thoughts on “My 5k journey : is complete!!

  1. Well done! You’ve been bitten by the running bug! I do hope you continue running and search out new challenges — like longer runs. Ten years ago I was where you are now with running. I started running to run in a 5k as part of a family event. Once I completed that run, I realized there was more running for me to do. As you know from my previous comments, running is not a natural, pain-free experience for me. It is always a challenge.

    I originally set out to be able to run non-stop for 30 minutes. My goal was to be able to run three miles in those 30 minutes. And complete that 5k. Once I accomplished those things, it became about running faster and longer. I ended up running four half marathons and lots of 10ks. Then I tore a groin muscle and running has been a challenge the last few years. I can run shorter distances without any problems, but the days of half marathons are over for me now.

    I hope you continue to run. It really is one of the best forms of exercise there is and you will feel better having done it. I know that — no matter how hard it is — you’ll be healthier and happier because you are a runner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mark – your support throughout this has been much appreciated. I often speak to others and I know that their experiences are similar so it really is a case of perseverance. I am hoping to get to 10k but we’ll just have to see. At the moment I have to run with ankle and knee supports so it might be a stretch, but I am certainly going to give it my best shot. One thing that I have found is that the mental side has got a little easier – I don’t have to do quite so much talking to myself now! I’ll definitely keep you posted and I hope that you enjoyed your morning run! Thanks again 🙂

      Like

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

