My 5k journey – acceptance, progress and mental strength

nenetus

Courtesy of nenetus via freedigitalphotos.net

I have been training for a number of weeks now and I think that my body has finally accepted that we are doing this. After missing three training sessions last week I was concerned that I would have gone backwards but in actual fact, I was able to run a fairly respectable 30 mins without too much difficulty on the next run. I am hopeful this means my body and me have turned a corner.

Today I decided to try for my longest run yet and managed 35 mins, again without too much difficulty. I had more in the tank although I am not sure how much, but that is major progress for me. I feel like once I get into the swing of it I can keep going a while longer, which helps me to get through mentally  – talking of which…

Mental strength is still an issue for me. I no longer find myself wanting to give up after 5 mins and by and large, with the runs that I am doing, I no longer get to the ‘giving up’ stage, but I still have to do a lot of talking to myself. Sometimes I motivate myself using landmarks e.g. running to the next lamppost and then the next car etc… Sometimes I keep myself going by thinking how annoyed I’ll be later if I don’t complete the run. The one thing that I have found with my mental strength is that as the physical running becomes more comfortable, so the mental side is less tough. Runners out there, is that what happens?

mentaltoughness

As it stands I cannot see me having the mental capacity to manage longer than a 5k run but I am enjoying feeling fitter, thus a 10k is not out of the question in the future. Will my mental strength continue to improve along with my physical strength?

Thoughts and advice all much appreciated.

~~~

cropped-dscn0031.jpg

~~~

2 thoughts on “My 5k journey – acceptance, progress and mental strength

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

