My 5k journey – Finding rhythm

Female legs jogging on a trailMy last two training runs of 20 mins and 30 mins respectively, have gone really well. I have found that my breathing is getting much better and that my legs are not groaning quite so much. Moreover, I am starting to get a little bit faster as I am running further in 30 mins than I was previously. Part of the improvement is undoubtedly down to keeping at it but I am sure that part of it is due to finding my rhythm.

At the beginning of a run I feel dreadful. Everything hurts (despite warming up), I am puffing and panting and mentally I cannot imagine running for even five minutes, then, after a short while things start to settle down which is what I have now come to recognise as my rhythm. My legs start to work in tandem rather than against each other, my breathing settles into a pattern and my arms pump at an even pace that I am able to sustain.

1869202_f74e6271

Running uphill is not fun! This is not part of my route but does depict a typical English country road.

When I get to this point the actual running part doesn’t feel so bad – the only downside is that whenever I hit an uphill climb, the rhythm is affected. I have been told that the best way to run up hills is to use smaller steps and I find that this works, however it means that my stride is shortened and I have yet to manage to switch comfortably from my ‘normal’ rhythm to an ‘up hill’ rhythm and back again. Still, to have two decent runs under my belt without too much drama feels light years away from where I started!

I haven’t measured my distance yet although I plan to do that on my next 30 minute + run. I don’t think I am too far away from 5k so, with less than five weeks to go until race day, I feel more confident than I previously have, that I will be able to do this.

~~~

cropped-dscn0031.jpg

~~~

 

 

2 thoughts on “My 5k journey – Finding rhythm

  1. Everything you describe is what most runners feel, just so you know. I’ve been through a particularly grueling stretch of runs the last couple of weeks where my calves tighten up to the point where it feels like my lower legs are bricks. Not a good sensation to have while running. Finally with my last two runs, they have loosened up a bit, but for three or four runs in a row I was barely able to go a mile before giving up because of the discomfort.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mark and that doesn’t sound so great about your calves. I empathise! At the moment my shins are sore but I am taking it easy and following the guidelines so hopefully they’ll be okay. I have to get up to a 50 min run soon which I have to say sounds pretty daunting right now!

      Like

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

