My 5k journey : After three weeks off..

Compound_chocolate…and too much chocolate.

Getting back into running training was something I was dreading. I’ve not exercised for over three weeks now what with work, holidays and other commitments, so I was not looking forward to the day when I ran out of excuses. That day was yesterday.

In deference to my lack of exercise I opted for a ‘short’ run which under normal circumstances, I can complete. It totals at around 3.5km so a little over halfway towards the end goal.

I am pleased to report that actually, it wasn’t as bad as I feared although I didn’t run the whole distance. I did intervals as and when my body dictated – or rather my breathing dictated. When I could breathe, running was fine. When I couldn’t breathe, not so much.

Sura Nualpradid

Sura Nualpradid via freedigitalphotos.net

I have asthma and I have discovered that I can’t take in as much breath as I would like to when I am running, which I think is where the difficulty with breathing comes from. I have decided that I am going to do alternate days running and yoga in the hope that I can gradually improve my breathing and get to that all important goal.

So, all things considered, not too bad a return but I am not going to lie – this is really, really HARD!

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

 

4 thoughts on “My 5k journey : After three weeks off..

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

