My 5k journey : Breathing

Every day plus

every-day-plus via freedigitalphotos.net

It has become apparent that, after only a couple of minutes, my breathing is a little all over the place. Having spoken to a few fellow runners, I have been told that it is entirely possible to maintain a steady breathing routine, regardless of the distance that you run. Hmmm… okay…

One set of advice I was given was to breathe in through the nose and then out through the mouth, making sure that the out-breath is longer than the in-breath. I was also advised to make sure that I was breathing from my diaphragm (the bit that makes your tummy go up and down) rather than just the chest.

Practising these tips is easy when you are not actually running – doing them whilst on the move however, was infinitely more challenging. In the end I opted for a kind of mixture of both and inhaled, exhaled and puffed my way to my longest continuous run to date – 27 minutes.

I’d like to say that I enjoyed it but I am still a long way from that goal. I did however find that with my attempts at breathing, my recovery period at the end of the run was faster. I also felt that if my legs had been willing, I may have been able to puff and pant my way to 30 minutes – so I figure I am on the right track.

nenetus

nenetus via freedigitalphotos.net

In terms of distance I have now reached 4.1 km (I had to take a couple of breathers to get that far) so the 5k is in sight. All I need to do now is build up my stamina so that when race day comes, I don’t look like a bright red, wheezing, puffing monster as I cross the line.

Any tips on breathing anyone?

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

 

 

12 thoughts on “My 5k journey : Breathing

  1. In my experience, and other runners I know have the same sense of this, in some respects the most difficult part of a run is the first two or three miles. During that first phrase, different parts of your body are adjusting to the run. Including your lungs. I always feel like my breathing is out of rhythm in those opening miles, but as I push through that, there is this point, right around two miles where the crampy feeling in my calves, and that odd pain in my hip, and that other one in my knee … they all kind of go away. And my breathing achieves a rhythm and ease so I barely notice that I’m breathing at all.

    I don’t know what the “right way” to breathe is, but I think if you keep running and lengthen the time and distance that you run, you’ll reach this point as well.

    Good luck!

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughts. I have heard the same too – in fact someone I know who runs half marathons told me that in a way I was training to do the hardest bit. It would seem that a lot of things fall into place after two or three miles. I shall keep pressing on and thank you for the encouragement! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. I have a run a few half marathons over the years and with those longer runs, the hardest parts of the run are the first two or three miles and the last two or three miles. The middle portion is bliss. 😉

        Like

  2. This is so cool! I’m working on my 5km too! I don’t know how on earth you’re managing 27 mins. I’m doing terribly and can only do about 35 mins. There’s a huge hill that forms part of my run so I might try a flatter route to see how I go 🙂

    Like

    • Hills are the pits and I am just doing it through sheer determination! Breathing is my real issue and I have not managed to get that sorted. I did train for a 5k a few years back so I think that has helped but it is definitely not easy! Glad to hear you are doing one too, we can share our stories!

      Like

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

