Dictation rocks!

I have just upgraded to my first ever iPhone (5s model) and despite some teething problems, I am firmly in love, not least because it completes my wonderful little Apple family.

bplanet

bplanet via freedigitalphotos.net

Being an already happy owner of both an iPad (Air 2) and MacBook Pro, I am familiar with the operating system of the iPhone (I have an iPod too but that’s slightly different), however I had never used the dictation setting for sending text messages etc.. until the other day. A friend introduced me to it and now I can’t stop using it.

My one issue when I first used the iPhone was the keypad. The phone screen is not the largest thus the keyboard is quite small, and I found myself getting frustrated with it. The predictive text suggestion is in the top left of the bar rather than in the middle (as it was in my previous phone) and so my initial messages were slow and laborious. I had waited so long for an iPhone and I really didn’t want to dislike it so when I was introduced to the dictation setting – wow.

At first I felt silly talking to the phone but, when I saw the words appear on the screen as if by magic, I soon got over that. Now I find that I am dictating anything and everything which means – as I am a bit of a talker – that my friends are receiving War and Peace like text messages. Of course I have to make the odd correction after I have dictated, but it is so much easier.

dan1

Before digital dictation! dan via freedigitalphotos.net

My husband, when he first heard me talking to the phone, was a little sceptical. He didn’t understand how it would punctuate so I promptly sent him a message full of commas, full stops, exclamation marks and questions marks. He was converted. I love that you can say ‘full stop’ and it puts one in, or ‘exclamation mark’ and the same happens.

I know that I am probably a bit late to the party on this one but, when I then discovered the built in compass and leveller on the iPhone .. what can I say?

It was definitely worth the wait.

Anyone else love/hate their iPhone?

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

2 thoughts on “Dictation rocks!

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

