5k = tough but rewarding!

So yesterday – a few days later than planned – I tackled the dreaded 20 minute run which I mentioned in my first 5k journey post. Having previously bought and used one magnetic knee support, I have now invested in a second and yesterday was the first time I went out with both on. No longer did my knees hurt but running for the entire 20 minutes was really tough going.

holohololand

holohololand via freedigitalphotos.net

I downloaded an HIIT timer onto my iPhone along with the Map My Run app and I had these operating in tandem. The timer told me when I had got to half way (10 minutes) so that I could turn around and the Map My Run app gave me completed distance.

At the end of the 20 minutes I had run 1.6 miles which means I am looking at double that to get to 5k. Although elated at completing 20 minutes, the thought of doing double that fills me with dread! I had just about enough puff to do one lot of 20 minutes so I am hoping that as I continue to train, my lungs will become more compliant.

Next run is on Friday which is 15 minutes, and then another 20 minutes on Sunday.

More in the next post!

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

 

4 thoughts on “5k = tough but rewarding!

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

