I’ll do it tomorrow…

It’s been a very long time since I’ve been here – 7 months according to my stats – which I must admit was never the plan. Unfortunately, in many respects, I am one of life’s procrastinators and am fond of saying that I will do things tomorrow – yet we all know that tomorrow never comes.

debspoons

debspoons via freedigitalphotos.net

The only area in my life about which I do not procrastinate is writing. I have, although the evidence on this blog would suggest otherwise, been very busy in my little writing world and have experienced some publishing success. I have also submitted my first fiction novel to a competition and just yesterday sent a proposal for my first non-fiction novel to a publisher. Writing does, and will always, continue to be my passion, but what of the other things I promised to do tomorrow?

Well, this blog is one and look how that turned out. I have however decided that I am going to use this blog as part of my ‘write something every day’ discipline. It may be that no one reads it, but that’s okay. The point of writing something every day is not necessarily to gain readers but to hone your writing skills and, if typing on here on a regular basis does that, then who am I to complain?

I have also finally done something else that I planned to do ‘tomorrow’, and that’s try to work on my overall fitness. My husband (who I am sure is currently having a mid-life crisis) has signed up to do the 10-mile Great South Run so I, feeling desperately unfit, have signed up for the 5k version. On the basis that I have paid the entry fee there is no going back, so those who live local to me are now being rewarded with the rather unflattering sight of me plodding (because I can’t call it running yet) along the pavements.

digitalart1

I think this might be pushing it!

Maybe dusting off this blog will help with my writing and maybe I’ll achieve my goal of running 5k in a relatively respectable time, but even if I don’t achieve either then that’s okay. Finally I’ve stopped saying ‘I’ll do that tomorrow’ and, in terms of my future goals and career, that can only be a positive thing.

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

 

8 thoughts on “I’ll do it tomorrow…

  1. Pingback: Who’d want me as their Mum? | AnnMarie Wyncoll

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

