A little ‘yogic’ treat

jscreationzs via freedigitalphotos.net

jscreationzs via freedigitalphotos.net

Today (Tuesday 8th September), sees the fourteenth year that my husband has put up with me. We always celebrate (read commiserate for him) our anniversary and this year will be no exception. I have, however, broken with tradition and chosen my own present.

Choosing my own present was not a decision I took lightly. I know that in many respects it makes perfect sense, but we still love the element of surprise. We never buy our own birthday, Christmas or anniversary gifts – it’s just the way we are.

That all changed though, when I saw this beautiful bracelet.

2015-09-03 14.06.03

It is, of course, a yoga inspired bracelet and yoga is something that has become very important to me over the last month or so. I am going to be blogging about it in more detail, but suffice to say that I have finally found a form of exercise that I am in love with.

Yoga is as much about breathing and connecting with your body, as it is about the physical movement and one of the main reasons why I wanted to get this gift for myself was to remind me. I wear it every day and that reminds me that when I am getting stressed, or finding the day tough or just hitting a brick wall, to comeย back to the present and that which matters. It reminds me to breathe, it reminds me to connect with my body and it reminds me to celebrate life. That is something whichย for me, has been so easily forgotten.

Not only is the bracelet beautiful and a joy to wear, it is a symbol ofย finding something that I have been searching for my whole life. An exercise regime that I can embrace and enjoy, and an inner peace that can keep me safe, healthy and productive. I can honestly say that this year, I have no regrets about choosing my own gift.

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

13 thoughts on “A little ‘yogic’ treat

    • Thank you, Elaine and yes, I totally love it! I can’t believe I have finally found something that doesn’t send me running (or ambling) for the hills! Do take it up again and if you do, try Yoga with Adriene on YouTube. It is her videos that I am doing and she is amazing. ๐Ÿ˜Šxx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Happy Anniversary, AnnMarie! I wish you and your husband many more years together. After 26 years of marriage, I can say that it only gets better ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love the bracelet as well as your love for yoga. I’ve been practicing yoga for several years on and off, the last two years more seriously. I just love it. It makes a great transition when I go to class on my way home from home ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Marie! And I am glad to hear that it only gets better ๐Ÿ˜Š I am only doing home practice at the moment via some great videos, but I love it because I can look as silly as I like and no one gets to laugh! Lol. It just feels amazing afterwards and I can do it for ages without noticing the time go by. Not like when I was running. I felt every single minute of that! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really like my studio because there’s men and women of all ages, shapes, and sizes that practice there. While we might take our practice seriously, we don’t take ourselves seriously. Many a time I have literally fallen out of a pose laughing because our instructor said or did something funny. I try to practice at home with videos but … well, I’m a procrastinator. Going to class 2x/week helps me avoid procrastination. If you do venture out to find a studio, make sure it’s one that encourages a sense of humor. The whole point of yoga is to feel good about ourselves while doing good for ourselves ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Marie. I think that’s the key. I have often found myself put off going to classes for any type of exercise because I worry about being hopeless! But you are so right about it being more about having fun with yoga. I think that’s what I have learned, even from home, is that there really is no pressure to be the best or as good as everyone else. I have managed to get a good routine going at home but I do think that I might need the rigidity of a class eventually. If I do, I’ll have to let you know how it goes! So glad to hear that you are having so much fun with it all. ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you ๐Ÿ˜Š

