How do you organise your work?

jesadaphornDuring the holidays I have been taking my laptop wherever I can work best, which has usually been in clear sight of my youngest. This means that any organisational system that I did have in my office, degenerated into several notes and pieces of paper scattered in all four corners of the house.

Yesterday I was able to return to my office and so I did a little housekeeping, making sense of the papers and notes and trying to file them and arrange them in some kind of useful order.

What I have ended up with (excluding what is stored on my laptop and external hard drive) are several notebooks dedicated to specific things. For example, I have a notebook where I can jot down blog ideas and develop them. There is another book for new novel ideas and a further book for my course assignment work and any paid work. Although this system makes perfect sense to me, it does of course rely on me having the appropriate notebook at the time when inspiration strikes, so it got me to thinking – how does anyone else organise their work?

I appreciate that I am in effect juggling three different ‘arms’ of work if you like, but I am sure that I am not alone in this.

So, what method do you use to keep track of everything on the go?

(Be warned… if it’s amazing, I might steal it ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

~~~

cropped-2015-08-03-12-47-50.jpg

~~~

18 thoughts on “How do you organise your work?

  1. “A place for everything, and everything in it’s place.” I have a desk calendar to write appointments and a note pad near the phone. Best of intentions and the worst at following them! hahaha “A wing a prayer” is probably closer to the truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I use three different tools. Two on my iPad and one spiral notebook. The notebook is my master idea and to do book. It does not need a plug in and can work effectively anywhere except underwater. On my iPad I use “Index card”. This is like a cork board for story organizing. Then, I also use the notes app. it seems to work pretty well for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you ๐Ÿ˜Š

