Just five minutes more…

via feelart @ freedigitalphotos.net

via feelart @ freedigitalphotos.net

Do you ever lie in bed willing your alarm clock to start going backwards rather than relentlessly forwards? Or start mentally re-arranging your day and your commitments so that you can pinch just that extra five minutes in bed?

That has been very much a theme for me this week. It has been the first week of the school holidays where we have actually not really had to go anywhere and yet lying in has still not been an option. The carer for my youngest son (who is severely disabled) arrives at 7.30am every morning regardless, and so I have still had the same old arguments with my alarm clock. Today was the worst. Today I really, really did not want to get out of bed.

Thankfully, the alarm clock is not the only thing that I have that reminds me to get out of bed. I also have an elderly cat who, every morning, decides that she will undertake the task of washing me – until I really have to get up and do a proper job myself. I know she means well, but I am not sure that the general populous would consider her efforts sanitary enough.

2014-06-10 10.01.01

As always, I pulled myself out of bed and did what I needed to do before coming downstairs and putting on the kettle. Whilst waiting for it to boil, I opened the back doors as I always do and suddenly was hit with nothing. Total silence. I stepped outside and breathed in and listened again – nothing. The air was still. The early morning sun was just beginning to bathe the garden in half-light and the chilly nip was still in the air.

Instead of walking back into the house, I stood a moment and just looked at the sky; at the vapour trails that I could clearly see, at the trees behind me in which lurked squirrels, pigeons and all manner of other birds and I breathed deeply again. It was a truly beautiful and serene moment and I found myself thinking actually, this was pretty special. If I had stayed in bed like my body demanded, I would have missed this. I would have got up when the rest of the world was up, when the cars would be trundling along the road in the distance, when the dogs would be barking on their walks out the back and I would never have known that this serenity existed.

Serenity...early morning sun in the UK

Serenity…early morning sun in the UK

I always remember my grandparents being early risers and I used to think that they were crazy. Why get out of bed when you don’t have to? But now, having enjoyed the moment that I did today, I am wondering if it was me that was missing out after all.

With the extra time I have managed to write this blog post and will hopefully be able to spend some time visiting other blogs. In addition, I will probably be able to get some work done.

via Stuart Miles @ freedigitalphotos.net

via Stuart Miles @ freedigitalphotos.net

Maybe the early bird really does catch the worm?

Thoughts anyone? Are you early risers or do you stay in bed til the last minute?

~~~

2015-08-03 12.47.50

~~~

23 thoughts on “Just five minutes more…

  1. I have a habit of always waking up a few minutes before an alarm. Even if it isn’t meant for me, I seem to know when I have 5 minutes to go. Never really understood the sadistic reasoning behind the things anyway. Who ever thought it was a great idea to start the day being jolted awake by a loud noise?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The day starts at 5:10 AM. Even on the weekend, my favorite time is early morning on the deck at my cabin, watching the fog break up on the water and hearing the world wake up around me. You have discovered real magic. Welcome…

    Like

  3. Love the banner on your blog! (Cats and typewriters go very well together.) I am not a morning person; yet, I appreciate the quiet and peacefulness of that space of time before everyone else rises. Everyone else meaning my husband. My cats are always up before me. And I live in town so often there is plenty of auto traffic. Still, I know that rising earlier will make me more productive. If I can start my day quietly and thoughtfully, instead of having to break into a run to get to work on time, I’m happier for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! And thank you so much for coming over here to follow me! Lovely to see you Marie and I am happy that you like my real name. It’s funny how many variations of the two names that there are. Mine is from the French spelling and I hate if people split it up and call me Ann. Funny eh? Yes, love cats. I only have one but she is always by my side and of course, wouldn’t be complete without a typewriter. I am still not sure if I am entirely morning person, I am up by necessity, but I do really think that it is a beautiful time of the day. The quiet and serenity is hard to beat. Look forward to keeping in touch with you again and hope that you are well? 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

