There are easier ways to sell books than through blogging

This sums up what my new blog is all about and could not be written in a better or more informative way. Well worth a read.

Suffolk Scribblings

Girl Scout Cookies

At the recent Bloggers Bash, one of the questions asked was why people started blogging. Many bloggers came up with the same answer, because they’d been told they needed to have a blog as an author platform in order to sell their books. When asked if blogging had helped, the answer from everybody was ‘not really,’ and while the answer wasn’t a ‘no,’ it’s not exactly a ringing endorsement.

This isn’t my first blog. I started blogging three years ago with another blog all about my writing journey (because nobody had thought of doing that before, right?). Over time I got bored about writing about writing so decided to start this blog where I could write about about anything, and I often did. However, I always had that piece of advice in the back of my mind, an author needs a platform to help promote and sell their books.

View original post 799 more words

4 thoughts on “There are easier ways to sell books than through blogging

  1. For a year, I kept track of my total word count. This inlcuded, my WIP, Aticles for magazines and blog posts. That was eye opening. I could have finished my WIP and written two short stories based on what I had posted. Not that I will give up blogging, but it certainly crystallized the amount of time and energy that I spent creating and reading posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that’s a really amazing exercise to have done – I am afraid to do something like that because I know it will show me that I have spent more time blogging than maybe I should. However, as the writer of this post so clearly says, blogging is still a great format for writing and experimenting with it. How is your WIP?

      Like

Talk to me...I can't wait to hear from you 😊

